Born Pretty Store – Zebra Stamp review

Image

Hay guys!

If there’s one nail art style that I have never even tried to conquer, it’s zebra print. I swear other nail ladies can free-hand these like they’re straight from a zebra’s skin and I’m just sitting here struggling to even get a realistic leopard print, lol!

This is where stamping comes in 😉

I’ve never tried to stamp before and naturally assumed I’d be bad at it so I avoided it at all costs. But when Born Pretty Store contacted me about reviewing some of their products, I thought I’d give it a go, and I’m very pleased with the product.

This is the manicure I managed. Being a first-timer, I wasn’t really confident stamping all my nails (in case they didn’t match and look nice) so I went for an accent nail instead. It’s the perfect amount of art to jazz up any manicure!

Polishes used: Bella Belle Nail Couture Golden Helm*, Sinful Colors Snow Me White, Ulta3 Black Satin.

Image

The stamping plate* I used is found here and comes with a few other whole nail and smaller designs (which I have yet to try!). The plate is small and compact, a thin round disc around 5.5cm in diameter. Each whole nail print is about 1.2 x 1.5cm which fits just perfectly on my nail, but may be problematic for those with wider nail beds. Make sure to peel of the blue plastic protective layer before use or you’ll be wondering why nothing is working!

The stamper* and scraper* I used is found here. The stamper is about 2.3cm in diameter and is slightly domed so you have to either push down firmly on the plate when trying to pick up the image, or do it in a small rolling motion from one side to the other. This is also the case for transferring the image from your stamp to your nail – if you have quite curved nails like mine, a rolling motion is needed to get the stamp to cover the entire surface of the nail. This was the hard part because I had a lot of difficulty either aligning the image straight or missing bits on my nails by not pressing down firmly enough. Practice makes perfect though!

I had some issues with the scraper. It seemed pretty harsh on the plate, and failed to evenly scrape off the excess polish on the image, leaving a thin film over the spaces meant to be blank. If I pressed harder, I would dig up some of the polish from the grooves and that prevented a crisp image. I ended up ditching the scraper altogether and using an old gift card instead, which worked much better.

It is important to note that not all polishes work for stamping. You can either buy special polish made especially for stamping purposes, which are thicker and take longer to dry, or you can do some of your own trial and error to see if you own any that could work. Typically, one-coater cremes and metallics work best.

Image

As you can see, this isn’t 100%. The image isn’t crisp, I moved slightly when I stamped so the lines aren’t that nice, and there are patches here and there where I didn’t pick up the image well. I think this was attempt #4? Still a long way to go to master stamping, but I was pretty happy with this result!

So in summary:

Pros

  • Cheap
  • Easy nail art
  • Simple idea to grasp
  • Lots of different designs

 

Cons

  •  It takes a few tries before you can get something decent!
  • You must work fairly fast or the polish can dry on the stamp.
  • You have to clean the plate/stamp after each use.
  • Not all polishes work.

 

What do you guys think? Have you stamped before?

Here’s a 10% off code for all my followers! Don’t forget Born Pretty Store has free shipping worldwide, on all their items with no minimum spend; how awesome is that!

ImageTil next time! x

* Products provided for review

 

 

Leave a Reply

