Glitter Gal – Galaxy Holo and Gloss Boss top coat swatches & review

Hey guys!

I’ve heard about Glitter Gal for quite some time but never really got around to owning any of their polishes, so when I was contacted to review  their newest collection, I jumped at the opportunity. And they did not disappoint! Admittedly, Glitter Gal is on the pricey side of polishes (retailing for about $15 for a 15mL bottle and $12 for a 10mL), the quality is really amazing.

Galaxy Holo Top Coat* is made up of tiny shards of silver holo pieces in a clear base, made to be worn over a base colour. When I first saw it, I thought it’d be another China Glaze Fairy Dust type polish but boy was I wrong! If anything, it’s reminiscent of the holo pieces found in some of Picture Polish’s shades. I found the holo to be on the subtle side, visible mainly in direct sunlight (unfortunately Sydney weather has been totally blergh these past few days so I didn’t manage a sunlight photo). The formula was fantastic though and applied easily with great distribution of holo pieces across the nail in one coat. It looks like a galaxy for real!

For this swatch I used 1 coat of Galaxy Holo Top Coat* over Glitter Gal True Blue Aussie, a polish I’ll swatch on its own soon, plus Glitter Gal Gloss Boss* top coat which I’ll discuss after these pictures!

galaxyholo1

galaxyholo2

galaxyholo3

Gloss Boss top coat* is Glitter Gal’s new top coat designed to not dull the effects of holographic polishes. It can be used on cremes or to enhance Glitter Gal’s holographic and special effect ranges for a glossy and gel-like effect. I wasn’t expecting much from this top coat – I’ve been using KBShimmer’s Clearly On Top for a while now and am quite happy with it – but whoa this top coat is amazing! The formula is on the thin side but easy to apply and definitely a better alternative than the thick ickiness of Seche Vite (sorry to the SV fans but it’s not my cup of tea! haha). It dries to the touch in about a minute or less and was fully dry for me within 5 minutes. I could wave my hands about without fear of denting! That just about satisfies everything I need. Plus it lives up to its name by adding a gorgeous shine to the polish too. I haven’t tried it over chunky glitter polishes but I assume it would require a few coats to smooth them out, as per most top coats, due to the thin consistency of the formula. Overall I do recommend Gloss Boss* if anyone’s looking for a reliable top coat!

glossbossFor more information on where to purchase this brand, visit my ‘Where to buy‘ tab.

Til next time! x

* Products provided for review

Leave a Reply

